www.lasers.org.uk

 

 

The Laser Group at Liverpool

  •  The History of the Laser Group at Liverpool

 

The Laser Group, part of the School of Engineering at the University of Liverpool, is the UK's largest University based research group in laser materials processing.  The facilities at Liverpool are a resource of international importance with state of the art high power laser equipment for the research and industrial development of welding, cutting, marking, surface treatments and novel laser based processes.

The Group is led by Geoff Dearden who has over 25 years experience and over 175 publications in the laser engineering field. Dr Dearden is a Professor in the University of Liverpool, Head of the Laser Group. Currently the Group consists of over 15 scientists, technicians and support staff.

The origins of the laser activity at Liverpool lie with Professor Bill Steen at Imperial College in the 1970's. In 1988, Professor Steen moved the group to Liverpool to take up the James Bibby Chair of Engineering Manufacture, established by Dr Mason Bibby in honour of his father.

  •  Staff and students in the Laser Engineering Group and their email addresses

Prof Geoff DeardenGD

Professor
Head of Laser Group
Director
Lairdside Laser Engineering Centre

g.dearden@liv.ac.uk

Dr Stuart Edwardson SE

Senior Lecturer

Programme Director for MSc(Eng) Advanced Mechanical Engineering and MSc(Eng) Advanced Manufacturing Systems and Technology

s.p.edwardson@liv.ac.uk

Dr Walter Perrie WP

Senior Research Fellow

wpfemto1@liv.ac.uk

Dr Eamonn Fearon EF

Honorary Visiting Fellow

fearon@liv.ac.uk.

Mr Andy Snaylam

Laboratory Manager

andysnay@liv.ac.uk

Ms Andrea Jones

Administrative Assistant

A.M.Jones@liv.ac.uk

Dr Zheng Kuang

Honorary Visiting Fellow

Z.Kuang@liv.ac.uk

Miss Ghazal Sheikholeslami

3rd Year PhD Student
(Laser Forming Group)

G.Sheikholeslami@liv.ac.uk

Mr Yang Jin

4th Year PhD Student
(Laser Micro/nano Processing)

yangjin@liv.ac.uk

Mr Elliott Lyon

3rd Year PhD Student
(Laser Ignition)

E.C.lyon@liv.ac.uk

 

Mr Guangyu Zhu

2nd Year PhD Student
(Laser Micro/nano Processing Group)

psgzhu@liverpool.ac.uk

 

Mr Jiangning Li

2nd Year PhD Student
(Laser Micro/nano Processing Group)

sgjli14@liverpool.ac.uk

Mr Hui Gao

2nd Year PhD Student
(Laser Forming Group)

sghgao@liverpool.ac.uk

Miss Dunia Lopez Espiricueta

1st Year PhD student

(Laser Direct Writing Group)

D.B.Lopez@liverpool.ac.uk

Miss Jing Liu

1st Year PhD student

(Laser Forming Group)

n00u0064@liverpool.ac.uk

Prof Bill Steen

Steen2

Emeritus Professor

w.steen@btinternet.com

Prof Ken Watkins

KW

Emeritus Professor

k.watkins@liv.ac.uk